Navigating and managing folders

The My Syncplicity web application provides a quick and easy way to view files and folders you own, folders you have shared with others, and folders others have shared with you. You can also use the files section to access and download files from any computer with a web browser and share them with others.

From My Syncplicity, click on files at the top navigation page then click on the files submenu.

You can navigate to the specific folder by simply clicking on the folder icon or the name of the folder. Each folder can have a combination of files and subfolders under them.

As you navigate through multiple levels of folders, Syncplicity places the path above the list of folders. For example, in the following screen, the path is: 

All Files → Documentation → User Guide

Each folder name in the path is a link, allowing you to quickly navigate to any level in the folder hierarchy.

Each of the folders listed in the view are marked to indicate their ownership, share status and permissions.

Icon Description

Your personal folder available for access and downloading files.

Personal folder you have shared with others.

Folders others have shared with you.

The folder text, Editor or Reader, represents the access permissions you have on that folder.

The Email Attachments folder is a special folder used exclusively by the Syncplicity Outlook add-ins.

In the My Syncplicity online file browser (OFB), if you are the Owner, you can delete a top-level folder. The folders and its contents are marked as deleted and are subject to any data retention policy by your administrator. You can restore the deleted folder and its contents if the folder has not been deleted by a retention policy. While restoring the top-level folder, if it is a shared folder, you have an option to restore participants for that folder.

To delete, select a folder and click delete in the black toolbar or right-click and click Delete.

If you are an Editor or Reader, the folder is deleted but only from your account. It is not deleted for other users, which is the equivalent of unsharing the folder. You cannot restore the folder; however, another user can re-share the folder with you.

This action is shown in the Activity Feed.

  Show me

If you are the Owner or Editor, you can delete a subfolder. The folders and its contents are marked as deleted and are subject to any data retention policy set by your administrator. You can restore the deleted subfolder and its contents if the subfolder has not been deleted by a retention policy. If you are the Owner, you can display the deleted items and permanently delete the subfolder.

As a Reader, you cannot delete a subfolder. 

You can view the details of each of the files accessible within these folders. 

To select a file, click next to the file name. In the file view, you can see details like the type of file (PPTX, DOCX, PDF, etc.), the date it was updated, and the file size.

See Working with files for information on the actions you can take with files.

Related Links