Legal Holds

In Syncplicity, eDiscovery administrators can access and manage user's data and impersonate a user in their company to obtain a list of syncpoints, folders, files, and file versions. Deleted files that are no longer available to regular users, yet still available to eDiscovery administrator, are eventually deleted via cleanup jobs. To avoid this behavior, you can use the Manage Legal Hold feature. When you set the legal hold on a specific user for a duration of time, you prevent the deletion (purging) of files while the user remains in the legal hold state. After the legal hold state expires or is removed from the user's account, a seven day grace period begins. After the grace period ends, all of the users deleted files are purged from the system.

NOTE: This feature is only available for eDiscovery administrators.  If you are not logged in as an eDiscovery admin, you will not see the legal hold status.

Use Case

When a reasonable expectation of litigation exists, companies are required to preserve electronically stored information (ESI). As an enterprise, Company A must protect digital content under their eDiscovery rules; therefore, they must ensure that data for a specific Syncplicity user is protected for a specific amount of time. Company A's eDiscovery admin can configure this user to be placed on hold for a duration of time to ensure this user's data is not removed (purged) from the system. 

Procedure

NOTE:  Legal hold cannot be placed on a group or a folder.

To place a legal hold on user's Syncplicity account, perform the following steps:

  1. Log in as an eDiscovery admin.
  2. From e-discovery → User Accountsselect the user you want to place a legal hold. The Manage User screen displays.
  3. Select Manage legal hold from the tasks (right side). 
  4. Select Never expired or select the Expiration date, then select Add legal hold. If you set an expiration date, the user is placed under legal hold for a set number of days from the time the hold is placed. For example, if you set the legal hold to 1 day, this time is equal to 24 hours from the time the legal hold is placed.


    NOTE:
     After the set expiration period only the user status/label is removed from the user. The actual legal hold will remain until the 7 day grace period expires (expiration period + grace period). After this time, the purge job can process the user again.

    If the legal hold is already is configured to Never expire, when you select Add legal hold from the Manage Users screen, you have the option to Remove legal hold:


  5. When the legal hold setting is successfully added, the Status of the user indicates the duration of time left for the legal hold:



Legal hold reports

From the Audit Legal Holds you can view the status of the legal hold for the user.



Related Links