Configuring client settings on Windows

 → Settings → Advanced

By default, the client has the following settings:

  • Show a message whenever a file from the Syncplicity account is downloaded: Allows you to hide these messages.
  • Use all available network bandwidth when uploading or downloading files: Allows you to limit the bandwidth if you have network issues or limited bandwidth.
  • Synchronize all file types: Allows you to not synchronize specific types of files such as executables, javascript, text files. Your administrator may have also excluded certain types of files, which you cannot change.
  • Display the advanced options when sharing a file.

Similar to a disk drive, you have a limited amount of space associated with your Syncplicity account. You can view the spaced used and the total available space in the Storage tab of the Settings screen. For more information about storage, see the About Storage article.

In addition, the Support tab allows you to access online documentation, send feedback about Syncplicity, and send a log file for troubleshooting purposes.

To change your client settings:

  1. Click the Syncplicity icon  in your taskbar.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click the Advanced tab.


When sharing folders or files, you may have the option that requires users to log in or enter a password. If you never select those options, deselect Display advanced options when creating shared links on the Advanced tab, if available. You will not be prompted for these options when sharing files and folders. However, your administrator can override those settings. This option is available for Enterprise Edition and Business Edition users only.

You can change these settings at any time.

Related Links