About Storage on Mac

Like a disk drive, you have a limited amount of space associated with your Syncplicity account. This space may be physically allocated from one location or multiple locations. The storage you use consists of the folders and files, both private and shared, owned by you. It does not count the size of folders shared with you but owned by someone else. Once you have used all your storage, you can no longer upload files.

View storage

When you open the Syncplicity taskbar, you can view the percentage of the storage consumed from the total available storage. 

For details on your storage, on the taskbar, click the number for the storage used. The My Syncplicity Storage Details displays.

NOTE: If your administrator has allocated space to you in multiple locations, the Storage tab includes a list of locations.

The Storage tab provides details on how much space is used by your active files, deleted files, and previous versions of those files. Select Syncplicity Folders to see the folders stored in that location.

NOTE: If you have space in multiple locations, click on each location to see the space used and available in that location. 

Free Space

Once you have used your allocated storage, you and users accessing your shared folders cannot upload files. If you attempt to upload a file to a shared folder with no space, a "no more space" message displays along with a button for you to select to receive and email regarding the free space issue.

If lack of storage is a problem, try the following suggestions:

  • If using the Enterprise Edition or Business Edition, contact your administrator.
  • If using the Syncplicity Personal Edition, you may need to upgrade your account which you can do from the web. See Account info and profile.
  • If your deleted files use a significant amount of space, permanently delete the folder containing the files. See Deleting a folder. You can also permanently delete specific files in the web client. See Working with files.
  • If you have multiple storage locations and plenty of storage in a different location, consider creating a new shared folder which automatically uses a location where you have space. You can then share files from there.

Related Links