Manage SSL access

Use the Secure Socket Layer page to add, enable, disable, reorder, or delete SSL encryption entries.

Note To enable or disable SSL for HTTP transfers, you must modify the HTTP Server settings on the Server Control page. If you select Enable HTTPS, SecureTransport uses SSL with the HTTP connections. If you do not select Enable HTTPS, SecureTransport does not use SSL with HTTP connections. For more information, see Manage the HTTP server.

The following topics provide how-to instructions for managing SSL access:

Related topic:

Add an SSL users encryption entry

You can define SSL encryption settings based on user classes.

  1. Select Access > Secure Socket Layer.
  2. The Secure Socket Layer page is displayed.
  3. At SSL Encryption Entries, click New Entry. A new line is displayed in the User Classes List.
  4. Select a User Class. The user class must already be defined in the User Classes page. Asterisk (*) means all users.
  5. Select an Encryption option for the user class. The two option types are: Mandatory and Optional.
  6. Click the Save icon (Save) in the Edit column.
  7. Note When using certificate-based authentication on Windows with real users, add the real user to the password vault to log in without being prompted for a password. For more information, see Real users.

Note To cancel an add operation, select Access > Secure Socket Layer again.

Enable or disable an encryption entry

Use the following procedure to enable or disable an encryption entry.

  1. Select Access > Secure Socket Layer.
  2. The Secure Socket Layer page is displayed.
  3. Under SSL Encryption Entries, select the check box for each entry to modify.
  4. Click Enable or Disable.
  5. The icons in the User Class column change to indicate the status of the entries.

Edit an encryption entry

Use the following procedure to edit an encryption entry.

  1. Select Access > Secure Socket Layer.
  2. The Secure Socket Layer page is displayed.
  3. Under SSL Encryption Entries, click the Edit icon (Edit) in the Edit column for the entry to edit.
  4. Make the required changes to the fields in the entry.
  5. Click the Save icon (Save) in the Edit column.
Note To cancel an edit operation, select Access > Secure Socket Layer again.

Reorder encryption entries

SecureTransport applies the first entry in the SSL Encryption Entries that matched the user class of the user. So, for SecureTransport to use them, you want the more specific entries before the more general entries in the list.

  1. Select Access > Secure Socket Layer.
  2. The Secure Socket Layer page is displayed.
  3. Under SSL Encryption Entries, click Reorder.
  4. Up and down arrows are displayed in a column before the User Class column in the SSL Encryption Entries.
  5. Drag the rows of the SSL Encryption Entries to the required order.
  6. Click Save Order.
Note To cancel a reorder operation, select Access > Secure Socket Layer again.

Delete an encryption entry

Use the following procedure to delete an encryption entry.

  1. Select Access > Secure Socket Layer.
  2. The Secure Socket Layer page is displayed.
  3. Under SSL Encryption Entries, select the check box for each entry to delete.
  4. Click Delete.
  5. Click OK in the confirmation dialog box.

Related Links