Manage server operations

The following topics describe monitoring server status indicators, starting and stopping servers, and reloading the server configuration:

Related topics:

Server status indicators

The table below lists the various status options available from the Server Control page and when SecureTransport displays that status.

Status Description Used during:
Running
(displayed in green)
The server is running normally. Normal operation
Running
(displayed in blue)
An HTTP or FTP server shutdown is pending, with the server shutdown information displayed below. Scheduled shutdowns
Not Running
(displayed in red)
The server is stopped. Disabled or stopped servers
Shutdown
(displayed in red)
The HTTP or FTP server is scheduled to shut down in the near future. The HTTP or FTP server is running, but does not allow transfers. Users can still connect and get messages. Temporary shutdowns, such as for maintenance

Start and stop servers

Use the button to the right of the status indicator for each server to start or stop that server. Always restart a server when you change a port number or enable FIPS transfer mode.

  • When the server is not running, the button label is Start. Click it to start the server. You'll be promoted with the following message: "Do you want to start a [name of the server]". If you click Yes, the server will start.
  • When the server is running, the button label is Stop. Click it to stop the server. You'll be promoted with the following message: "Do you want to stop a [name of the server]". If you click Yes, the server will stop.

Use the Stop All and Start All buttons in the top right corner of the Server Control page to stop or start all servers. Stop All stops all running servers. Start All start all protocol servers that are enabled plus the TM server. It also start the Monitor server if it was running and then stopped.

Note When a server is stopped or disabled, its services are unavailable.
Note In case of low disk space do not start servers.

Reload server configuration

The SecureTransport server configuration is stored in the database and loaded into the server component processes when they start or when the configuration changes. You can bounce the server to force a configuration reload. This is the procedure for a stand-alone SecureTransport Server or a SecureTransport Edge. To bounce servers in a cluster, use the Cluster Management page.

In the SecureTransport menu bar, click Bounce.

The server reloads its configuration. If the bounce is successful, the server displays an "OK" message.

Note A Standard Cluster (SC) must be manually synchronized prior to executing a Bounce on any secondary nodes in the Standard Cluster. For information on Standard Cluster synchronization, refer to Standard Cluster synchronization

Related Links