InterPlay use

This section introduces key aspects related to InterPlay use:

Managing Collections and Objects

InterPlay includes the following editor functions:

Function Description
View Collection List

Displays the Collections, grouped together in Folders, in a grid in accordance with the filters specified previously.

Statistics on errors are provided for each Collection.

View Objects*

Displays the details of the Objects. Several editors can be created to have different views on the Objects.

Filtering and sorting Filters and sorts object lists to make navigation easier (Collections, Objects, Elements, Errors).
Edition** Updates and deletes existing Objects. Powerful editors can be created to guide the user in entering data and applying controls.
Create Collection and Objects* Selects an editor and creates a Collection or an Object.
Duplicate Object and Element* Copies an Object or an Element. The created object has the same parent as the original object.
Export CSV file** Exports table content (Collections, Objects, Elements, Errors) into a CSV file.
View errors

Lists the errors associated to the Objects. Several filters are available:

  • All the errors of the Collection
  • The errors of the current object only
  • The errors of the current object as well as the errors of its sub-element(s)
  • The errors of the selected objects

These default filters can be combined with custom filters based on the error properties. A direct access from an error to the corresponding object is provided.

* These functions deselect all other collections, objects or elements except the one the user is viewing.

** These functions only affect the selected collections, objects or elements on the current table page. Entities on other pages are ignored and continue to be selected after the function finished.

Note   You can also access Collections and Objects from an external web application or document. For more information, see Access Collections and Objects.

Managing Profiles

For each user, the preferences are saved and restored from one session to another. The user sets the preferences once and they are displayed until the he decides to change them.

The user can set preferences on:

  • Language: The default is the browser language. If the default language is not defined in the configuration, the first one from Designer> Global Settings> Languages will be used.
  • Position, width, and sorting of the table columns

After login, the user can select the language he wants to use each time he connects.

Teamwork security

Two levels of locks have been implemented to prevent several users from editing the same entity at the same time:

  • Collection lock:
    When a user edits a Collection, it is locked along with its associated Objects, and nobody else can modify it.
  • Object lock:
    When a user edits an Object, it is locked and nobody else can modify it. However, the other Objects in the same Collection can still be modified, created or deleted.

Related Links