Merge applications

Your cluster or standalone node relies on a single application.

If you've defined more than one application and you would like to deploy them all on the same cluster or standalone node, you will be merging them into a single application.

Understand when applications are merged

You are upgrading a cluster or standalone node containing two or more applications

You must be upgrading a cluster or standalone node from a version earlier than 20170515 for this scenario to apply to you.

If you are upgrading from a version earlier than 20160808, you have to perform an intermediate upgrade.

If your cluster or standalone node has more than one application, during the merge:

  •  The oldest application on the cluster or standalone node becomes the only application.
  •  All the other application are merged into this one single application. 

You are importing a second application

You already have a deployed application but want to import another one:

  • The contents of the second application are merged into the currently deployed application.

You can only merge applications with distinct spaces. If the application you are importing has spaces in common – that use the same key or UUID – with the already deployed application, the merge will be rejected.

None of the above

If you cannot find your scenario among the described ones, you won't be merging applications and you don't need to read any further.

Understand what happens during a merge

When merging an Incoming application into another Destination application, the following things happen:

Application permissions
  • All application permissions granted on Destination remain unchanged.
  • All application permissions granted on Incoming are lost.

Since all Incoming application permissions are lost, roles which had permissions on Incoming lose these permissions and have to be configured again so they are granted permissions on Destination.

Perspectives
  • All the Destination perspectives remain available and unchanged.
  • All the Incoming perspectives are added to the Destination perspectives and their name is prefixed by the Incoming key, that is the Incoming Monitoring perspective becomes Incoming-Monitoring in Destination

Spaces and dashboards

  • All Destination spaces and dashboards, as well as their contents, remain available and unchanged.
  • All Incoming spaces and dashboards, as well as their contents, are included in Destination spaces and dashboards.

Templates
  • Destination templates remain available and unchanged.
  • Incoming predefined templates are only added to Destination templates if they don't already exist. Otherwise, they are lost.
  • Incoming custom templates are added to the Destination templates. If an Incoming template has the same name as a Destination template, the Incoming template is renamed to Incoming-<templateName>.
  • The default template setting for pagelets from Destination remain unchanged.
  • The default template setting for pagelets from Incoming are lost.



Related Links