Upgrade a cluster or standalone node from versions earlier than 20170515
If you are upgrading from a version earlier than 20160808, you have to an intermediate upgrade.
If you are using a version previous to 20170515, then when you upgrade a cluster or standalone node, all existing applications will be merged into one single application.
Case1: A deployment with only one application
You can simply follow the standard Upgrade procedure.
Case 2: A deployment with 2 (or more) applications
Follow the standard Upgrade procedure.
Be aware of the fact that, during the upgrade, the oldest application on the node becomes the node application, and the content of all the other applications is merged into the node application's content.
Some configurations, like for example application permissions, might need to be reconfigured.
Please see details on the merge process here: Merge applications