Upgrade a node on Windows

Upgrade preparation

Execute the installer using your previous installation folder

  • Launch the node installer and target the current node directory. For information about launching the installer, see  Install a node.

Prepare the node configuration

  • In NODE_DIR/conf/platform.properties, set the autostart property to false, com.systar.aluminium.contexts.autostart=false. This setting helps prevent an incorrect upgrade by avoiding data loss when the upgraded node starts.

Configure a backup checkpoint

Customize your next shutdown checkpoint with a meaningful comment such as Before upgrade to 20160822. Make sure the checkpoint is locked:

setShutdownCheckpointParameters true "Before upgrade to 20160822"

When upgrading from a release older than 20160808 the checkpoint will be done manually by calling the following command: 

createcheckpoint "Before upgrade to 20160808"

The checkpoint created is locked and remains available as long as it is locked.

Upgrade execution

Stop the node

To learn how to stop a node, see Manage a node under Windows.

Start the node

To learn how to start a node, see Manage a node under Windows.

If the node didn't start, check the <logging directory>/migration-error.log and the <logging directory>/tornado-error.log. The node may have failed to upgrade one of its components, in which case these files will contain instructions on how to complete the upgrade procedure.

Upgrade verification

Successfully updated 

If the update was performed correctly, the node automatically migrates the database to the new version and creates a checkpoint upon migration. The last steps in case of a successful upgrade are the following: 

  1. If the migration was successful, remove the com.systar.aluminium.contexts.autostart=false property from NODE_DIR/conf/platform.properties. Your routes will start again in automatic mode along with the node if the node is configured this way.

  2. Remove the old files saved in case of rollback, the NODE_DIR/installer/backup-for-xxxxyyzz-aa backup file, and the NODE_DIR/product/DecisionInsight-xxxxyyzz-aa directory corresponding to your previous version.
  3. Either start your routes manually or restart the node so that your routes will start with the node if the node is configured this way.
  4. Unlock the checkpoint created before the upgrade.

Rollback

In the unlikely event that the upgrade is not successful, or if the process was abruptly interrupted (Windows Update, power outage, etc...) during the migration, follow these steps to rollback the node to its previous state:

  1. Stop and rollback the node to the backup checkpoint. Instructions are available in How to rollback a node state to a specific checkpoint?
  2. Restore the NODE_DIR/conf directory to the backup done by the installer (available in NODE_DIR/installer/backup-for-xxxxyyzz-aa).

  3. Reconfigure the service:
    If the node you are rolling back is installed in service mode on Windows, then the service must be reconfigured.
    To manually reconfigure the service, go to the installation path, and launch the script located under the bin directory.

    cd <installation path>\bin
    tnd-service-configure.bat
  4. Start the node.
  5. Keep or remove the new version DecisionInsight-xxxxyyzz-aa directory under NODE_DIR/product depending on whether the upgrade will be performed again or not.

 

 

Related Links