Manage SecureTransport backups

Central Governance provides a disaster recovery (DR) option for SecureTransport to quickly resume critical functions in case of a disaster. See SecureTransport clusters for an overview of the cluster architecture.

This section describes how to:

  • Manage and synchronize SecureTransports in a cluster
  • Deploy flows on a SecureTransport cluster

Concepts in this section:

  • Master SecureTransport: This is the master production SecureTransport cluster, as described in the SecureTransport Administrator Guide.
  • Backup SecureTransport: This is the DR backup to the master production SecureTransport cluster, where the configuration and operational data of the backup is the same as that of the master.
  • Synchronization: So that the DR backup can replace the master SecureTransport if required, you must synchronize the database and operational data between the master and the backup SecureTransport.
  • Flow deployment: When you deploy a flow on the master SecureTransport, it is also deployed on the backup.

Define SecureTransport backups

You begin by adding SecureTransports backups, then synchronize the master and backup configurations.

View product details

To view a SecureTransport's status, access the Products page, select the SecureTransport, then click to view its details page.

Add a backup

To add a SecureTransport backup, from the master SecureTransport's details page select Edit, scroll to Backup products, and enter one or more SecureTransports as a backup to the current product. If you are using more than one SecureTransport as a backup, enter the list of SecureTransport separated by a comma.

Note:

  • You can only use registered SecureTransports that are the same version as the master SecureTransport as backups.
  • A  SecureTransport that is used as backup for another SecureTransport cannot have its own backups.

List backup products

The list of SecureTransports that acts as backups display in a dedicated column in the Products list page.

Synchronize the master and backup SecureTransports

You must have the same communication profiles in the master and backup SecureTransports. The synchronization mechanism removes backup communication profiles that do not exist on the master SecureTransport, and creates communication profiles on the backup if they exist on the master. The new communication profiles are visible in the configuration of the backup only in View mode.

Note We recommend that you do not use a backup SecureTransport directly in flows, as they become invalid as soon as the master and backup synchronize.

You can use the Synchronize button in the Backup section, which is enabled when the backup SecureTransport is not synchronized with the master.

Use REST APIs to manage backups

Central Governance provides REST APIs to perform actions on backups, such as adding a backup or retrieving the list of SecureTransport backups for another SecureTransport. For detailed information, see SecureTransport backups

Deploy a flow on backup products

When you deploy a flow, using either the UI or Rest API, Central Governance checks if there are backup products for the SecureTransport that is used in the flow.

  • If there are backup products that are synchronized with the master SecureTransport, the flow deploys on the master and backup SecureTransports. The Deployments list displays all products used in the deployed flow.
  • If the backup products are not synchronized with the master SecureTransport, the flow fails with the error message: Backup product/s <BKP_LIST> are not synchronized with the master product <master_SecureTransport>

Backups in the flow definition

In the flow definition, the list of backup SecureTransports displays in parenthesis next to the selected master SecureTransport.

Impact management

If a SecureTransport is already used in deployed flows, adding or removing backup SecureTransports to it impacts these flows. To keep the master production SecureTransport synchronized with its backups, the flow must be deployed on the backup products too.

Add a new backup

If you add a new backup for a master SecureTransport that is already used in deployed flows when you save the change, Central Governance displays a warning with a list of the impacted flows. The impacted flows' status then changes from Deployed to Saved, Not Deployed.

Delete a backup

If you delete a backup for a master SecureTransport that is already used in deployed flows, there is no warning about impacted flows. The status of the deployed flows containing the current product does not change. The next time that an impacted flow is deployed, the SecureTransport no longer acting as backup is updated.

 

Central Governance | Document Directory

Related Links