Upgrade B2Bi 2.3.1 Client from previous versions

The following information describes how to upgrade a B2Bi Client installation.

Before you begin

  • Close Mapping Services and the B2Bi System Manager.
  • Back up your workspace – Copy your workspace to a secure location.
  • This is especially important if your workspace resides in the Mapping Services installation directory, for example:
  • C:\Axway\Mapping_Services\workspace

Do you require assistance

Before starting an upgrade, best practice is determining whether you need help from Axway. Answer the following:

  • Did Axway professional services help in the initial deployment or a previous upgrade?
  • Are you upgrading to a version that is two or more versions later than your current version?
  • Are you upgrading two or more products simultaneously?
  • Have you implemented changes that make your environment atypical or unique?
  • Are you unsure whether in-house resources have the necessary technical expertise?

If you answer "yes" to one or more of these questions, or are unsure, contact your Axway account executive or technical support to discuss options.

Uninstall the B2Bi Client software (optional)

In a typical upgrade scenario it is common to install the new B2Bi client version into a new directory, in parallel to the old installation. The old installation can then be conserved until it is certain that it is no longer required. When you are ready to remove an obsolete B2Bi Client installation, use the following procedure:

  1. Go to Start>All Programs>Axway Software, right-click B2Bi Client Uninstaller and select Run as administrator.
  2. This starts the client installer in uninstall mode.
  3. View the Welcome page and click Next.
  4. In the Select product page, click the drop-down arrow next to "Axway 4.9" and select Uninstall. All other products are automatically selected to be uninstalled as well. Click Next.
  5. In the Shutdown application page, click Next.
  6. In the Ready to uninstall page, click Uninstall.
  7. Click Yes to confirm the warning to continue the uninstallation.
  8. After the uninstall is complete, press Next and then Finish to close the installer window.

Install the B2Bi Client 2.3.1 software

Install B2Bi Client 2.3.1 client using the standard procedure. See Install the Client.

If you are conserving the old version of the B2Bi Client, you will need to install the most recent version to a new directory, and create a new workspace after the initial startup.

After you install the new version

If you upgraded from Mapping Services 3.0.0 or B2Bi 2.1.0:

When the new installation is complete, restore the workspace you saved before uninstalling the product, or point to the new location of the workspace.

If you upgraded from an earlier version of Mapping Services or B2Bi:

Import the backed up workspace to a new workspace in the new Mapping Services interface.

Related Links