Manage users

The users and roles area of the user interface has links for adding, changing and deleting users.

Add a user

Restriction on user account names:

Do not use any of the following names for user accounts:

  • agent
  • admin
  • cycloneApp
  • partner
  • webtrader
  • provsvcs
  1. Select Users and roles > Add a user.
  2. Complete the fields.
  3. Choose a role for the user. If the role you want is not available, you can create a role and add the user to it later.
  4. Click Add this user.

Options for adding users

This section describes special options for creating users.

Enable this user

Use this option to temporarily enable or disable a user. You can change this value, after you create the user, from the user management screen.

Force user to reset password upon initial login

Use this option field to force the user to change the password on first login. If the user logs in for the first time over the REST API interface or tsclient, the user is refused access and will need to open a session in the Activator UI, and reset the password there.

Modify a user

  1. Select Users and roles > Manage users.
  2. Select a user and make the changes you want.
  3. Click Save changes.

Options for modifying users

This section describes special options for modifying users on the "Change user" page.

Enable this user

Use this option to temporarily enable or disable a user.

Force a password change after this user's next login

Use option field to force the user to change the password on the next login. When the user logs in to the REST API interface for the second time, the user is refused access and must open a new session in the Activator UI, and reset the password there.

Delete a user

  1. Select Users and roles > Manage users.
  2. Select a user.
  3. Click Delete this user.

Rather than deleting, you can disable a user by clearing the Enable this user check box.

Tips to manage users

  • User names and passwords are case sensitive.
  • When adding a user, remember to assign a role. A user without a role can log on, but can do nothing else. Use the Roles tab to add or change a role for a user.
  • A user has a choice of the time zone to display in the user interface. The default is the server’s time zone.
  • The total number of Activator user interface browser, API and Activator client tool sessions that can run concurrently is controlled by the user license. You can check the maxUserSessions element in the license.xml file by selecting Help > License information on the top toolbar in the user interface.

Related Links