Lockout settings for SFTP (embedded) users

You can set the number of times an SFTP user can attempt to connect with an invalid password to an embedded SFTP server before Activator locks out the user. This is a safeguard against possible efforts by unauthorized users to access the server.

The user is locked out for a specified number of minutes. The user must wait until the lockout interval expires, unless an administrator unlocks the user before the interval ends.

Set lockout rules

Use this procedure to set the lockout rules for an embedded SFTP server. The rules apply to all SFTP users.

  1. Select System management on the toolbar to open the System management page.
  2. Click the Configure global transport settings task to open the Configure global transport settings page.
  3. Select the Global SFTP settings tab.
  4. Edit the following fields.
    • Maximum retries before a user is locked out – The number of times a user can try unsuccessfully to log on before the user is locked out.
    • Lock out length (in minutes) – The interval in minutes that a lockout is in effect.
  5. Click Save changes.

Unlock a blocked user

Use this procedure to unlock a locked out user of an embedded SFTP server before the lockout interval expires.

  1. Click Delivery exchange in the navigation graphic at the top of a community summary page.
  2. Click an embedded SFTP transport to open its maintenance page.
  3. Select the Directories tab and check whether any users have been locked out.
  4. Click Unlock to enable the user to try again to connect.

Related topics

Related Links