Data storage, backups, and purging

Activator copies messages it sends and receives to a backup directory, provided backing up is turned on. Failed messages also are placed in the backup directory; there is not a separate directory for them. Records of traded and failed messages are stored in the database.

Note   A rejected message is considered a failed message.

The default backup directory Activator_shared_directory>\common\data\backup. You can change this default directory location.

You can configure the product so that backed-up messages of a certain age are deleted. This lets you delete unwanted database records and backup files. When triggered, database records about documents and the corresponding files in the backup directory are deleted. Once deleted, you no longer can search for, view or reprocess these documents in Message Tracker.

When you view payloads in the Message Tracker area of the user interface, the system retrieves the documents from the backup directory. When you use Message Tracker to resubmit a document, a copy must be present in the backup directory. For these reasons, it is important to ensure the backup directory has the capacity to store all of the required documents.

Delivery exchange configuration controls whether documents are backed up. See Fields for modifying community pickups and partner deliveries for more information.

Related Links