Manage community-to-partner specific collaboration settings

You can specify collaboration settings that apply between one specific community and one specific partner.

These settings:

  • Override:
    • Default collaboration settings
    • Community-specific collaboration settings
    • Partner category-specific collaboration settings
  • Are overridden by any collaboration settings that you set between the community and a delivery of the partner.

Use example: Your default collaboration settings could specify that messages sent over the AS2 protocol should return signed acknowledgements. Partner A might want to send unsigned acknowledgements. You can specify that Partner A send unsigned acknowledgements for the AS2 protocol, while all other partners in the community use the default or community-level settings.

Select a partner for specialized collaboration settings with a community

Before you can set specific collaboration settings between a specific community and a specific partner, you must select the partner for specialized collaborations. To do this you must have:

  • At least one community.
  • At least one partner.

To specialize collaboration between a community and a partner:

  1. Open a community summary page.
  2. Click Collaboration settings on the navigation graphic at the top of the page to open the Configure community-specific collaboration settings page.
  3. In the left pane, from the tasks list, click Specialize collaboration settings for a partner to open the Add special collaboration settings for a partner page.
  4. Complete the Messages sent to field. Click Pick a partner and then select a partner from the list of available partners in the pop-up window.
  5. Click Add.
  6. The partner that you selected is added to the list of partners associated with the community.

Specialize community-to-partner collaboration settings

  1. Open a community summary page.
  2. Click Collaboration settings on the navigation graphic at the top of the page to open the Configure community-specific collaboration settings page.
  3. In the left pane, in the community/partner tree, click the name of a partner to open the Configure community to partner specific collaboration settings page.
  4. Select the settings to specialize and modify settings as required.
  5. After making any modifications, click Save changes.
  6. The following list describes the override options:
    • Pick the sender routing ID – If a community has multiple routing IDs, you can pick one as the ID that is included in packaged messages.
    • Pick the receiver routing ID – If a partner has multiple routing IDs, you can pick one as the ID that is included in packaged messages.
    • Set sending rules for the AS2 message protocol – Overrides the AS2 global defaults. For field descriptions see AS2 default settings.
    • Set sending rules for the PGP message protocol – Overrides the PGP global defaults. For field descriptions see PGP default settings.
    • Set resend attempts and interval for reliable messaging – Overrides the defaults for resending messages. For field descriptions see Reliable messaging default settings.
    • Specify the signing certificate to use – Lets you specify the certificate to use for signing messages, if it is different than the community default signing certificate.
    • Specify the partner's encryption certificate to use – Select this option to choose which of the partner’s certificates to use to encrypt messages.
    • Specify the receipt signing certificate to use – Select this option to choose which of the partner’s certificates to use to sign message receipts.
    • Specify the PGP signing certificate to use – Lets you specify the certificate you use to digitally sign the messages you send. This specifies the PGP certificate that partners must use to verify you as the sender. When you select this option you can then select the certificate from a list of PGP certificates that are available for the community. Use this option to use a certificate that is different from the community default PGP certificate.
    • Specify the partner's PGP encryption certificate to use – Lets you specify the certificate you use to encrypt the messages you send via PGP. When you select this option you can then select the encryption certificate from a list of PGP certificates that are available. Use this option to use a certificate that is different from the partners's default encryption PGP certificate.
    • Specify whether to encrypt or sign messages and choose algorithms– Overrides the global and community-level defaults for encrypting and signing messages. This option overrides not only the default collaboration settings for your installation, but the protocol-specific signing and encrypting settings you might have set up for this partner.
    • When selected the following fields display.
      • Encrypt messages – Select this check box to encrypt the messages you send.
        • Message encryption algorithm – If you select encrypt messages, select an algorithm.
      • Sign messages. Partners use your certificate to verify you as the sender – Select this checkbox to digitally sign the messages you send.
        • Message signing algorithm – The algorithm for creating a hash of the unencrypted message. This hash is a number that is encrypted with your community’s private key. It is decrypted by the partner using the community’s public key. The partner rehashes the decrypted message and compares the result with the hash that came with the message. If the two are identical, it ensures the contents have not been altered.
      • Specify the delivery exchange to send messages to – Lets you choose the transport for sending messages to this partner.

Related topics

Related Links