Manage community-to-category collaboration settings

You can specify collaboration settings that apply to all partners in a category of partners that is associated with a community. This enables you to specify exceptions to the default or community-level collaboration settings for sending messages to groups of partners.

For example, if you have a Community_A and a partner Category_C, you can create a set of collaboration settings and apply them to any context where Community_A sends a message to Category_C. You could also apply the same set of override settings to additional categories for Community_A, if you need to.

To make custom collaboration category settings, you must have at least one collaboration category that includes one or more partners. See Group partners by categories.

You only need to specify exceptions to the default or community-level settings. For any settings you do not change at the category level, the global defaults or any community-level exceptions are used. See Default collaboration fields.

Select a category for specialized collaboration settings with a community

Before you can set specific collaboration settings between a specific community and a specific category, you must select the category for specialized collaborations. To do this you must have:

  • At least one community
  • At least one partner
  • At least one category

To specialize collaboration between a community and a category:

  1. Open a community summary page.
  2. On the navigation graphic at the top of the page, click Collaboration settings to open the Configure community-specific collaboration settings page.
  3. In the left pane, from the tasks list, click Specialize collaboration settings for a category to open the Add special collaboration settings for a collaboration category page.
  4. In the To partners in a category field, select a category from the drop-down list of available categories.
  5. Click Add.
  6. The category that you selected is added to the list of partners and categories associated with the community.

Specialize community-to-category collaboration settings

  1. Open a community summary page.
  2. Click Collaboration settings on the navigation graphic at the top of the page to open the Configure community-specific collaboration settings page.
  3. In the left pane, in the community/partner tree, click the name of a category to open the Configure community to category specific collaboration settings page.
  4. Select the settings to specialize and modify settings as required.
  5. After making any modifications, click Save changes.
  6. See Community and category collaboration fields for descriptions of the options.

Related topics

Related Links