Purge Activator manually

Use the messagePurgeTool to delete all database records and files in the backup directory at once. This command-line utility is located in < install directory>\tools, and must be run from that directory.

This tool has special options for use in DB2 environments. See parameter descriptions below.

Caution   Make sure Activator server is turned off before using messagePurgeTool.

Parameters

Run messagePurgeTool with one of the following parameters. You can only use one parameter at a time.

deleteAll

Deletes all records in the database and related backup files regardless of age or state. Depending on the volume of records in the database and backup files, the utility may have to run a while to delete all.

Using with DB2 databases:

For DB2 database environments only, this parameter can be run with the -noLog option. Use the –noLog option to disable transaction logging in DB2. If you do not use the -noLog option, transaction logging remains enabled.

In a single-host DB2 environment, the only impact of –noLog is to reduce the log space used on the DB2 system.

deleteAllSkipFiles

Deletes all records in the database, but does not delete backup files. If you have a large number of records, this option works faster than the deleteAll option. However, if you use it, you must manually delete backup files. For example, by deleting the backup directory.

Using with DB2 databases:

For DB2 database environments only, this parameter can be run with the -noLog option. Use the –noLog option to disable transaction logging in DB2. If you do not use the -noLog option, transaction logging remains enabled.

In a single-host DB2 environment, the only impact of –noLog is to reduce the log space used on the DB2 system.

resetMessages

Changes the purge dates of records in the database and of documents in the back-up directory. When messages are processed, Activator assigns future purge dates, based on the age interval set on the purge configuration page in the user interface. If you change the age interval, you can use the resetMessages option to change purge dates of existing records and documents in line with the changed interval.

For example, if the interval is 45 days, the system sets the purge date for messages processed today as the date 45 days in the future. On day 44, you change the interval to 90 days and then run the resetMessages option. The system re-calculates the purge dates of existing messages as 90 days in the future of the messages’ origination dates. This means on day 44, the purge date is set ahead 46 additional days, for a total of 90 days before purging.

The utility may take a while to run with this option if there are a large number of records to reset. See Configure automated Activator purge.

Example

To delete all records in the database and all related backup files, run the following command:

messagePurgeTool -deleteAll

Event logging

Events related to running the messagePurgeTool are written to the messagePurgeTool.log file in the < install directory>/logs directory.

Related Links