Modify a partner

For a description of partners, see Partners.

To add a new partner, see Add a partner.

For a description of how to limit the number of displayed partners, see Use the partner search tool.

After you create a partner, you can view and modify the partner's characteristics.

To view and modify an existing partner:

  1. In the user interface, select Partners > Manage partners.
  2. From the list of partners, click the name of a partner to display the summary page for that partner.
  3. At the top of the Summary page is a navigation graphic for the partner. This graphic represents the parts of the partner configuration and provides active links to screens in which you manage these parts.
  4. In the user interface, place your cursor over a label. A red box appears around that part of the graphic. Click inside the red box to go to the page the label references.
  5. You can use the partner graphic links to view and edit the following user interface pages for the partner:
    • Community membership – Enables you to view and manage the communities the partner belongs to. A partner should belong to at least one community. If the partner does not belong to a community, a note on the partner summary page reminds you that should subscribe, and provides a link for this task.
    • Categories – Enables you to organize partners into groups. The use of this feature is optional. For more information see Group partners by categories.
    • Partner Delivery – Displays the message protocols and transports a community uses to send messages to a partner. A partner can have multiple delivery exchanges, but only the first in the list is used. If you intend to trade with a single partner using multiple message protocols (for example, AS1 and AS3), set up one partner for each message protocol. For more information see Community trading pickups and partner deliveries.
    • Summary – Displays information about the partner including:
      • Community memberships
      • Administrator contact name
      • Administrator email address (if any)
      • Default routing ID
      • Default delivery exchange
      • Default encryption certificate (if any)
    • Additionally, the summary page displays any additional tasks you must execute to complete the partner trading configuration.
    • Properties – Displays:
      • The name of the partner
      • A country code that indicates the partner location
      • Any attributes associated with the partner for processing or search purposes. You can change the value for one or more of the optional attributes on that page. You can define optional attributes in one of three states:
        • Empty text box and empty checkbox — this attribute is ignored at runtime.
        • Completed text box and empty checkbox — this attribute is evaluated at runtime.
        • Disabled text box (grayed out) and selected checkbox — this attribute may exist for other agreements, but is negated at runtime for this particular agreement.
    • Certificates – Displays certificates associated with this partner. You also can add a certificate here. For more information see Certificates pages.
    • Routing IDs – Displays the routing IDs associated with this partner. A partner routing ID is the “from” address used in message trading. A partner can have one or more routing IDs. For more information see Routing IDs.
    • Contacts – Displays the principal contact person for the partner, and any additional contacts that you may add. For each contact, you can add or edit additional information, including a phone number, email and notes about the contact. The primary contact is indicated above the list of contacts.
    • To change the primary contact, click in the selection box next to the contact name of a non-primary contact to select it. Then from the Select an action box, select Make primary and click Selected.
    • [Transport] users – The [Transport] users page lists user accounts associated with embedded servers and the usage for the users. [Transports] is a variable for transports such as FTP, SFTP and others.
    • The [Transport] users icon appears only when a partner account has been associated with certain types of community delivery deliveries.

Related topics

Related Links