Delete, resend, reprocess options

The search results page has three action options that can be applied to the displayed records. These are: delete, resend and reprocess.

Not all actions are valid for all types of messages, but the user interface indicates when an action you select can be applied. If an action is valid for a message, you can select the check box at the beginning of the results record line. If an action is not applicable, you cannot select the option.

  • Delete – Delete messages and receipts from the database and backup directory. Only messages in a final processing state can be deleted. Only parent messages can be deleted. To delete child messages or receipts, the related parent must be selected.
  • Resend – The following can be resent:
    • Receipts for messages received previously from partners can be resent to partners. Resent receipts are not packaged (no signing, encryption, compression).
    • Messages previously sent to partners can be resent to partners. A previously sent message is not repackaged. Rather, the previously sent packaged message is sent again. Transport retries and business protocol resends are respected for the resent message, as if the original send did not occur.
    • Messages previously sent to integration can be resent to back-end applications. Transport retries are respected for the resent message.
    • Message Tracker also can resend individual child documents split from batch EDI documents by Activator’s bundled EDI splitter, which can be enabled on consumption exchanges. This applies only to resends and not the reprocess action. Moreover, child documents of outbound parent messages sent via the ebXML, RosettaNet and Web services protocols are not affected, as with those protocols it is the parent payloads that are packaged and sent.
  • Reprocess – Reprocessing is applicable to messages outbound to partners and inbound from partners.
    • Reprocessing an inbound message again unpacks the received message, resends the message to back-end applications and resends the receipt to the partner if the receipt is not synchronous.
    • Reprocessing an outbound message repackages the original message and resends it to the partner.

If you resend a message a partner already has acknowledged, the partner’s trading engine may reject the resent message as a duplicate unless steps are taken to anticipate the resend.

When a message is resent or reprocessed, Message Tracker marks original messages as resubmitted and creates and submits a new message with the content of the original message. The original message and the resubmitted new message are linked together when viewing details in Message Tracker.

For reprocessing, if an original outbound message was retrieved from an application pickup configured with message metadata element values, the original metadata is resubmitted with the message. If the metadata configuration for the pickup was changed between the original submission and the resubmission, it is the original metadata that is resubmitted and not the currently configured metadata.

Use of the resend and reprocess options relies on whether Activator is configured to back up message payloads. For more information, see Backup options and Message Tracker.

Note Whether you select messages to resend or reprocess, Message Tracker reports the status of both actions as resubmitted. For the purpose of reporting status, Message Tracker cannot differentiate between a resent message and a reprocessed message. Instead, the status of both actions is given as resubmitted.

Related topics

Related Links