Customize applications

You can customize what your API consumers can see in the Applications view of API Portal, and you can customize what rights they have on applications and credentials.

You can customize the following:

  • Show or hide the button that enables users to create new applications. The default is shown.
  • Show or hide the button that enables users to delete applications. The default is shown.
  • Show or hide the list of APIs for applications. The default is shown.
  • Enable users read/write or read only permissions on credentials, or hide credentials completely. The default is read/write.
  • Show or hide application scopes. The default is shown.

Customize application settings

To change the settings:

  1. In to the Joomla! Administrator Interface (JAI), click Menus > Main Menu.
  2. Click Applications.
  3. Click the Applications tab.
  4. Change the settings as required and click Save & Close.

Customize application sharing settings

You can hide the list of users when sharing an application in API Portal. When this setting is enabled, an application developer cannot see the full list of users from the same organization when sharing an application. This ensures that the privacy of your other users is protected, and their contact details (for example, email address) are not revealed.

To change the settings:

  1. Log in to the Joomla! Administrator Interface (JAI) (https://<API Portal_host>/administrator).
  2. Click Components > Main Menu.
  3. Click API Portal > Additional Settings.
  4. In the Enable user listing field, click No to hide the user listing, or click Yes to show it. The default is to hide the user listing.

When the Enable user listing setting is set to Yes, an application developer can see the details (user name and email) of all other users that an application is shared with, and to share the application with another user they can select the user from a list of all users in the organization.

When the setting is set to No, an application developer cannot see the details of all other users the application is shared with, but can see those users with whom they shared the application. To share the application with another user they must enter an email address. An error is displayed if the email does not belong to the organization.

When the setting is set to Yes or No an organization administrator can see all the users that an application is shared with, regardless of who shared it with them.

Related Links